Support independent, student-run journalism.

Your support helps give staff members from all backgrounds the opportunity to conduct meaningful reporting on important issues at Stanford. All contributions are tax-deductible.

Editorial Board: Let’s hold faculty to a higher standard on sexual assault

Stanford’s Fundamental Standard states: “Students at Stanford are expected to show both within and without such respect for order, morality, personal honor and the rights of others as is demanded of good citizens.” In the years since 1896, the University has expanded on these basic tenets, adding phrases such as “the rights and dignity of…

Faculty Senate passes housing resolution, says goodbyes

On June 9, the Faculty Senate passed a resolution to push the University to expand affordable housing for the Stanford community. The Senate also ended the year by thanking departing figures and introducing the incoming ones.

The resolution pushed the University to expand on-campus housing and provide transportation options to help all Stanford staff reasonably commute to campus. In particular, the resolution called for Stanford to provide all graduate students with housing, whether on-campus or subsidized off-campus housing.The resolution was proposed by Russell Berman, Walter A. Haas Professor in the Humanities and chair of the Policy and Planning Board (PPB).

Seven Stanford affiliates named Soros Fellows

Seven Stanford-affiliated scholars were recently named Paul and Daisy Soros Fellows, joining 23 other people in the fellowship’s 2016 cohort.. The fellowship provides tuition and living expenses for immigrants and children of immigrants for up to $90,000 over two years and aims to award students who demonstrate creativity, drive and academic success. The awardees have the opportunity to study in any degree-granting graduate school in the United States.

The Stanford-affiliated awardees include Abubakar Abid, Binbin Chen, Sharada Jambulapati B.A. ’12, Zihao Jiang, Veronica Manzo, Jenna Nicholas and Suhas Rao. Each will be attending graduate school at Stanford in the 2016-2017 school year or have previously attended Stanford.