Support independent, student-run journalism.

Your support helps give staff members from all backgrounds the opportunity to conduct meaningful reporting on important issues at Stanford. All contributions are tax-deductible.

Stanford recognizes new Engineering Heroes, prompts criticism regarding departmental diversity

On April 16th, the University named the newest four Stanford Engineering Heroes, sparking a conversation about representation among Stanford engineers. This year’s winners are astronaut Mae Jemison, graphics processing unit inventor Jensen Huang M.S. ’92, and the late computing duo, Stanford computer science (CS) department founder George Forsythe and CS textbook writer Alexandra Forsythe.