Support independent, student-run journalism.

Your support helps give staff members from all backgrounds the opportunity to conduct meaningful reporting on important issues at Stanford. All contributions are tax-deductible.

Middle Eastern sustainability nonprofit founders receive 2018 Stanford Bright Award

On Thursday night, Gidon Bromberg and Munqeth Mehyar received the 2018 Bright Award for co-founding EcoPeace Middle East, a nonprofit organization using environmental sustainability as a means to promote regional peace. The Bright Award, conferred annually by the Stanford Law School (SLS), recognizes outstanding work in promoting global sustainability. Each winner is granted $100,000 and the opportunity to deliver a public lecture at the University.

Green Earth Sciences Building introduces multi-occupancy, all-gender restrooms

On Aug. 15, the Green Earth Sciences Building introduced the University’s first multi-occupancy, all-gender restrooms to be in a academic or administrative building. This is a departure from the University’s prior practice of converting only single-stall public restrooms into gender-inclusive spaces, as required by California state legislation Assembly Bill (AB) 1732 since Mar. 1, 2017.

GSC talks ASSU reforms, mental health

During its weekly meeting on Wednesday evening, the Graduate Student Council (GSC) debated a bill to broadly reform the ASSU constitution authored by GSC member Caleb Smith ’17 M.S. ’18. The Council also motioned to create a working group to handle mental health issues in response to the recent lawsuit against the University and addressed several procedural matters.

Three Stanford staff members honored as Amy J. Blue Award recipients

Last Tuesday, three Stanford staff members were honored as recipients of the 2018 Amy J. Blue Awards: Sheila Dolezal, director of finance and administration in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology (OB/GYN), Christina Ablaza, program manager of the Creative Writing Program, and Rafael Velazquez, a food service worker in Residential and Dining Enterprises’ (R&DE) Stanford Dining division. The distinction, which recognizes Stanford staff members who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to their work and support for their colleagues, was established in 1991 in memory of associate Vice President for administrative services and facilities Amy J. Blue.