Support independent, student-run journalism.

Your support helps give staff members from all backgrounds the opportunity to conduct meaningful reporting on important issues at Stanford. All contributions are tax-deductible.

Eight faculty members elected to National Academy of Sciences

Eight faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), an honorific society of researchers in scientific and engineering fields who are “dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology,” according to its website. It is one of the highest honors an American researcher can receive.

The faculty members are chemistry professor Keith Hodgson, psychology professor Ellen Markman, biology professor Susan McConnell, mechanical engineering professor Parviz Moin, political science professor Barry Weingast and School of Medicine professors David Kingsley, Brian Kobilka and Robert Malenka Ph.D. ’82 M.D. ‘83.

The Stanford professors are among 72 new members elected to the NAS.

–Tyler Brown


While you're here...

We're a student-run organization committed to providing hands-on experience in journalism, digital media and business for the next generation of reporters.
Your support makes a difference in helping give staff members from all backgrounds the opportunity to develop important professional skills and conduct meaningful reporting. All contributions are tax-deductible.